Play Neverwinter MMO on Linux

The short version:

– Download the game via torrent: http://nw.perfectworld.com/download/torrent
– Download & save this POL script: http://pastebin.com/RihAd2qz
– In POL, run the script as a local script. When asked select the setup.exe for Neverwinter.
– Proceed with the installation (don’t change install path & don’t automatically run the game).
– Check some of the notes below: “Running the game”.

The illustrated version:

– Download the game via torrent: http://nw.perfectworld.com/download/torrent
Download
– Install POL if you don’t have it already. Instructions here: http://www.playonlinux.com/en/download.html
– Download & save this POL script somewhere (~/Downloads/nw.txt for example): http://pastebin.com/RihAd2qz
– In POL, select run a local script and then select the script you downloaded.

– Click through the prompts (Next/Agree/Next) and you will be ready to go.

– Wine will be downloaded if you don’t already have the version I specified in the script (you can change this afterwards in settings btw). You don’t need to install Mono when asked.

– Next step will install IE8, we need this for the launcher, sadly. The first step is in French (some of the devs of POL are French) but it’s just asking us what language we want for IE. Just select English.

– Select the options like I did (not that it matters much)



– DirectX will be installed as well but you won’t get any prompts there (hopefully). Eventually you should be asked to point to where you downloaded the game (setup.exe):

– Just select the setup.exe and the installer for the game will be loaded. As always when using POL, don’t change the installation path and when asked don’t automatically launch the game. You can do that manually afterwards via POL.





– Eventually the installer will finish and you’ll end up with a nice shortcut both in POL and on your desktop.

Running the game

Right if you got this far you want to run the game. The servers are frequently down though. Check https://twitter.com/neverwintergame when in doubt.

For example if you get something like this, it means their patch servers are down:

When the patch servers are up, you should get a launcher window. First thing to do is go to Options at the top.

Unselect everything and select Safe Mode and Disable On-Demand Patching. The first option will allow us to get past the initial loading screen (you can check later without this option if it works for you), the other option will download all the patches beforehand and not on-demand (when you first enter an area) which is less annoying. Now log in with your account (If you don’t have one, register here: https://register.perfectworld.com/nw_splash). The patches will download.

Once you’re fully patched, select the big Play button. You’ll get a prompt about video drivers. Just select use lowered settings. Don’t worry, once the game is loaded you can just set the settings to whatever you like.

Eventually the brightness calibration menu will be shown:

This will only be shown the first time. After this you can go to Options and select Fullscreen (or max windowed), change the graphic settings etc.

Unfortunately you’ll have to do this every time you load the game (including toggling the Safe Mode). For me at least, if I don’t do this, I get stuck at the loading screen.

If you want to see your FPS in-game: /showfps 1
If you want to check for FPS spikes (purple is bad): /fpsgraph 1
If you want to see your ping: /netgraph 1

I get around 30-50 FPS on Medium, it’s worse than running native, but it’s perfectly playable. Putting AA higher than 2x gives me a really bad performance hit as well.

BTW if you want to launch the game from commandline (script, openbox menu, etc) use this:
playonlinux --run "Dungeons and Dragons: Neverwinter"

Enjoy,

If you want to get in touch in game, I’m @teppec (on server Dragon).

30 thoughts on “Play Neverwinter MMO on Linux

  1. Arthur Nova May 4, 2013 at 18:51 Reply

    This ran perfectly for me, thank you for giving me something to do this weekend! =D

  2. Paolo Falconí May 7, 2013 at 17:38 Reply

    Damn, If i saw this before I would not have to download it again to get the setup.exe… is there any chance I could run the game (I have it installed in my windows partition)

    • kweepeer May 8, 2013 at 07:26 Reply

      @Paolo: Yea, probably. Haven’t tried it myself, but just comment out lines 34-41 in my POL script and also probably line 49 http://pastebin.com/RihAd2qz

      That will just prepare the POL drive for you. Then you should manually copy the game into ~/.PlayOnLinux/wineprefix/DnDNW/drive_c/Program Files/Cryptic Studios (or put a symlink to your windows files).

      And then you’ll have to make a shortcut in POL, Configure button > (selection of virtual drive) > General tab > Make a new shortcut from this virtual drive. Then select Neverwinter.exe (it’ll be in the list).

      • Paolo Falconí May 15, 2013 at 17:54

        Just saw your reply, thank you buddy. Anyways I’ve already downloaded the game again (by torrent) and followed all your steps and they worked well, now I’m waiting until the patch is done to see if it works well.

        I will try the reply too, thanks a lot for everything!

  3. Peter May 10, 2013 at 10:21 Reply

    Hi, tried to run your script but nothin happends after i click next at the code scree with i accept checkbox. Nothing happens. Runing Ubuntu 13.04 lts.

  4. Toby May 13, 2013 at 02:32 Reply

    Hey thanks for the tutorial. It feels like it’s so close to working on my box.

    Here is the issue I’m having. I can start launcher and patch everything; however, when I click “play” the launcher closes and the game never opens.

    I have verified that I’m running it in safe-mode.

    Basically, everything halts between pressing play and getting the prompt about video drivers. Any thoughts?

    • mat June 1, 2013 at 17:00 Reply

      I’ve been having that happen to me too, have you found a solution by any chance?

  5. Samm May 13, 2013 at 05:22 Reply

    Okay, so when you say “Eventually it will install”, how long exactly is eventually? xD
    It’s POL is kinda just sitting here spinning and has been now for about ten minutes-twenty minutes.
    That normal?

    • Toby May 13, 2013 at 16:03 Reply

      I had this problem too; I had to run unix2dos on the install script, possibly there are some windows end line characters in there or something. After that, I had no doubt it was doing what it was supposed to do…

  6. Paolo Falconí May 16, 2013 at 02:02 Reply

    Works perfect!

    The only problem is that i get a message in the loading screen saying something like “pixel shader failure”, then in game there are a lot of white parts. I hope anyone here knows an answer.

    Thanks in advance! and thank you again for this tutorial!

    • Revidivo May 28, 2013 at 17:31 Reply

      Same problem here. 😦 The installation process went fine, but because of the “pixel shader failure” it is almost impossible to play. 😦

  7. Tai June 1, 2013 at 09:48 Reply

    I run NW with wine+ winetricks on ubuntu 12.10 (I had problems with running that thing “ARC” with POL, and I’m still having problems with it. It’s kind of unstable, and crashes almost every time I want to close it.) I’ve got installed ie8 and DirectX , but when I launch the game and it does the cryptic loading it takes forever and then everything starts to run veeery veery
    Slowly it could take minutes only to open the options window. I don’t know what to do, I never
    show en the “options”window. I don’t know what to do. I didn’t

    • kweepeer June 1, 2013 at 17:04 Reply

      What’s your wine version? Try to use >=1.5.29. Not sure what you mean with ARC?

  8. Victor June 6, 2013 at 05:18 Reply

    Hey guys, my options menu won’t come up in the NeverWinter launcher. It opens the Internet Explorer with “app:3” in the address bar. Any help?

  9. Manuel Lopez 8a (@manuellopez8a) June 10, 2013 at 21:14 Reply

    Well, It didn’t work either.
    My problem is that I can’t see the “Patching” letters when I enter on my account :S
    So, I don’t know if it’s being downloaded or not.
    I didn’t want to play this game anyway… meh…

  10. Rob June 15, 2013 at 05:08 Reply

    I got it to run fine, but there’s a lot of pink textures around and that’s kind of annoying. They go away if I turn the graphics absurdly high, but after that it usually crashes. I looked on my PC and the graphics weren’t set much higher, and it had no problem

  11. Keith June 15, 2013 at 12:16 Reply

    Awesome, thank you for the steps (and figuring it out)!

  12. Moltes June 16, 2013 at 08:59 Reply

    Hi,

    For people that are unable to launch the local script in POL.
    install dos2unix “apt-get install dos2unix”
    Then rename the pol script “d&d_neverwinter_pol.txt” to “neverwinter.txt” for exemple.
    launche this command
    “dos2unix neverwinter.txt” in terminal
    And then try again to install as a local script.

    That’s work for me
    Moltes

    • Spekki December 23, 2013 at 11:16 Reply

      Thanks to Moltes about the dos2unix tip. Worked for me nicely!

  13. bluefox83 July 1, 2013 at 21:43 Reply

    I’d really like to find out about that pixel shader failure as well. I’m getting huge sections of my screen that are covered in pink a lot. I thought it was an issue with targeting at first, but now it’s all over the place, even in towns and stuff.

  14. Fëana July 29, 2013 at 14:17 Reply

    Hi everybody !

    Can’t seem to load the script from pastebin, anyone else having that same problem ?

    Could the author please upload the script again (or anyone else) i’d really like to try out this solution.

    Thanks in advance guys !

    • kweepeer July 29, 2013 at 14:20 Reply

      Hey, sorry about that but could you run the script through dos2unix first? Others have reported this issue before.

      Edit: If I have some time I will re-upload the script with Wine 1.6 version (you can change it manually too).

  15. AJ Venter August 13, 2013 at 07:16 Reply

    Your script works wonderfully. There is no more torrent download option so you may want to update the page, but using the script the basic installer from the site works just fine and the launcher will then install the rest of the game – all without any problems. You should definitely submit your script to PoL for official inclusion because it worked fine for me on two computers (better than most third-party PoL script’s I’ve used) and if the comments here are any hint – it’s worked very well for a lot of other people. As an aside – just changing the name should allow the exact same script to work for STO as well because STO uses the same Cryptic launcher and engine.

    • kweepeer August 13, 2013 at 07:38 Reply

      Hi, thanks for the feedback 🙂 I’ll look into it, I have submitted scripts to POL before so it should not be a problem. Just need some time to revise & test the script.

  16. Lucas Martins Guimaraes August 13, 2013 at 11:06 Reply

    Thank you so much for this quick tutorial! The game is running perfectly in this newly installed ubuntu machine. The only roadblock I faced was, since this was a brand new install and I had not Wine previously installed, the step-by-step did not emphasized that a regular Wine install should have had to be done, the script was halting never asking me for the setup files, once I figured that out, things were really smooth.

    • kweepeer August 13, 2013 at 11:11 Reply

      No problem, glad it helped you. If you do the install of PlayOnLinux via apt-get, it will install also install (system) wine IIRC.

      wget -q "http://deb.playonlinux.com/public.gpg" -O- | sudo apt-key add -
      sudo wget http://deb.playonlinux.com/playonlinux_precise.list -O /etc/apt/sources.list.d/playonlinux.list
      sudo apt-get update
      sudo apt-get install playonlinux

  17. Raffi Newman March 4, 2014 at 00:12 Reply

    Tested and working on on linux mint 16 (KDE)

    i still had the script and setup file from when i did this in mint 14 (ubuntu 12.04) and it worked like a charm! No Arc required.

Leave a comment